Agrotech Valley

The Forum

The Osnabrücker Land region lies in the centre of Germany's most intensively farmed agricultural area and is home to a high-density, comprehensive value-creation network which spans the entire sector from agricultural technology to nutritional science and also includes leading research institutions. It is this structure which has gained the economic area between the cities of Oldenburg and Münster its nickname "Agrotech Valley" and made it unique throughout Europe. The region thus offers ideal conditions for improving agricultural practice across the board. Parallel to this, it has high-performance transfer institutions with international profiles.

The companies, research institutions and agricultural system technology service providers who have come together within the Agrotech Valley Forum share the common goals of promoting economic development of the agricultural sector and the region as well as offsetting infrastructure-related obstacles.

The primarily owner-managed companies include both global market leaders and also regionally focused suppliers of agricultural technology products and services. In addition to this, numerous scientific institutions are based in the region, such as Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences (HS OS), the University of Osnabrück (UOS), the COALA competence centre and the German Research Centre for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI). In 2018 the Osnabrück Innovation Centre (ICO) founded the “Seedhouse” start-up accelerator, aimed at the agricultural and nutritional science sectors. Cross-manufacturer ventures such as the Competence Center ISOBUS e. V., DKE Data GmbH (“Agrirouter” data exchange platform) or the ISOBUS test centre play an important role in the region’s development. In the field of practical research Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences is currently establishing the “Agro-Technicum” centre, an innovative institution devoted to agricultural robotics. In response to this bundling of exceptional competence in companies and scientific institutions and the central importance of agricultural and nutritional science for the local economic area, the Landkreis Osnabrück administrative district and Osnabrücker Land business development agency (WIGOS GmbH) support a wide range of initiatives designed to strengthen this value-creation network. 

One project, initially titled “AgritechNet Nordwest”, has been in place since early 2017. It takes the form of a network for agricultural technology companies and provides a forum for industrial companies and academics to interact. In order to stabilise these networking activities the participating universities, research institutions and companies decided to set up a joint association. The outcome was the “Agrotech Valley Forum e. V.” association, founded in July 2019.

Agrotech Valley

Das Forum

Das Osnabrücker Land liegt im Zentrum der am intensivsten bewirtschafteten Agrarregion Deutschlands, welche in einer hohen Dichte das komplette Wertschöpfungsnetzwerk der Primärproduktion über die Agrartechnik bis hin zur Ernährungswirtschaft einschließlich führender Forschungseinrichtungen beheimatet. Mit dieser Struktur ist der Wirtschaftsraum zwischen Oldenburg und Münster, das sogenannte „Agrotech-Valley“, einmalig in ganz Europa. Damit bietet die Region beste Voraussetzungen für Verbesserungen der landwirtschaftlichen Praxis auf breiter Ebene. Gleichzeitig verfügt der Raum über leistungsfähige Transfereinrichtungen mit internationaler Sichtbarkeit.

Die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Agrarsektors und der Region zu fördern und Hemmnisse in der Infrastrukturausstattung auszugleichen, sind gemeinsame Ziele und Anliegen von Unternehmen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Dienstleistern der Agrarsystemtechnik, die sich im Agrotech Valley Forum zusammengefunden haben.

Unter den überwiegend inhabergeführten Unternehmen sind Weltmarktführer ebenso zu finden wie regional ausgerichtete Anbieter von Produkten und Dienstleistungen rund um die Landtechnik. Mit der Hochschule Osnabrück (HS OS), der Universität Osnabrück (UOS), dem Kompetenzzentrum COALA oder dem Deutschen Forschungszentrum für künstliche Intelligenz haben zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen in der Region ihren Sitz. Am InnovationsCentrum Osnabrück (ICO) ist in 2018 der Startup-Accelerator für die Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft „Seedhouse“ ins Leben gerufen worden. Herstellerübergreifende Aktivitäten wie das Competence Center ISOBUS e. V., die DKE Data GmbH (Datenaustauschplattform „Agrirouter“) oder das ISOBUS Test-Center sind wichtige Bausteine in der Region. Für die praxisorientierte Forschung entsteht derzeit an der Hochschule Osnabrück das „Agro-Technicum“ als innovatives Agrarrobotik-Zentrum. Aufgrund dieser Bündelung herausragender Kompetenzträger in Unternehmen und Wissenseinrichtungen und der großen Bedeutung der Agrar- und Ernährungswirtschaft für den regionalen Wirtschaftsraum setzten sich der Landkreis Osnabrück und die Wirtschaftsförderungsgesellschaft Osnabrücker Land mbH (WIGOS) im Rahmen vielfältiger Initiativen für eine Stärkung dieses Wertschöpfungsnetzwerkes ein:

Zunächst firmierend unter dem Projekttitel „AgritechNet Nordwest“, existiert seit Anfang 2017 ein Unternehmensnetzwerk für die Landtechnik, in dem sich Vertreter von Hochschulen und Industrieunternehmen gemeinsam engagieren. Um die Netzwerkaktivitäten zu verstetigen, haben die beteiligten Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen für den Aufbau eines gemeinsamen Vereins entschieden. So konnte im Juli 2019 der Verein „Agrotech Valley Forum e. V.“ gegründet werden.